Do You Know Events History

8 Oct : India got its proud flight

You must have seen such visuals live or on TV, during Republic day parade.

Flying high is a habit for India since 1932. 84 years ago, it was today, when India got its air arm in the name of Indian Air Force. Although at that time it was just a part of British Air Force.

Indian Air Force has a simple motto – “Touch the Sky with Glory”. It has been taken from Bhagvad Gita. The Sankrit saying comes at a time in the Kurukshetra battle when Lord Krishna’s divine form is reaching the sky with glory, evoking fear and loss of self-control in Arjuna’s mind.

Before Independence, it was called The Royal Indian Air Force. The prefix ‘Royal’ was added in 1945 in recognition of its services during World War II. The prefix was dropped when India became a republic in 1950.

Since independence, the IAF has been involved in four wars with neighbouring Pakistan and one with the People’s Republic of China.

Other major operations undertaken by the IAF include : 
1. Operation Vijay
2. Operation Meghdoot
3. Operation Cactus
4. Operation Poomalai

Apart from conflicts, the IAF has been an active participant in United Nations peacekeeping missions.

Indian Air Force is the 4th largest in the World, just behind United States, Russia and China. 

आज 1932 में भारतीय वायु सेना की स्थापना हुई थी। 1932 में हमारी वायु सेना ब्रिटिश वायुसेना की एक सहायक wing के तौर पर तैयार हुई थी। इस वायु सेना को 1945 में दूसरे विश्वयुद्ध के दौरान अच्छे प्रदर्शन के लिए Royal शब्द की उपाधि मिली और इसे Royal Indian Air force कहा गया। हालांकि 1950 में भारत के गणतंत्र बनने के बाद royal शब्द को हटा दिया गया था और वायु सेना को Indian Air Force कहा जाने लगा। अब तक भारतीय वायुसेना ने पाकिस्तान के खिलाफ चार और चीन के खिलाफ एक युद्ध लड़ा है। दुनिया में भारतीय वायुसेना का स्थान चौथा है।

%d bloggers like this: