Events History

22 July : India got its National Flag

Today India got its National Flag. We all know our Flag, it needs no introduction. But if you click the link above, you would know the unknown about our National Flag.

We all know our flag, it needs no introduction.
The tricolour is a symbol of a free country. The National flag was adopted in its present form during the meeting in constituent assembly held on 22 july, 1947.

Mahatma Gandhi first proposed a flag to the Indian National Congress in 1921. The flag was designed by Pingali Venkayya. In the centre was a traditional spinning wheel, symbolising Gandhi’s goal of making Indians self-reliant by fabricating their own clothing.

The design was then modified to include a white stripe in the centre for other religious communities, and provide a background for the spinning wheel.

A few days before India became independent on 15 August 1947, another modified version of the Swaraj flag was chosen; the tricolour remained the same saffron, white and green. However, the charkha was replaced by the Ashoka Chakra representing the eternal wheel of law.

Khadi or hand-spun cloth is the only material allowed to be used for the flag, and flying a flag made of any other material is punishable by law with imprisonment up to three years, besides a fine. Raw materials for khadi are restricted to cotton, silk and wool. 

“A flag is a necessity for all nations. Millions have died for it. It is no doubt a kind of idolatry which would be a sin to destroy. For, a flag represents an Ideal The unfurling of the Union Jack evokes in the English breast sentiments whose strength it is difficult to measure. The Stars and Stripes mean a world to the Americans. The Star and the Crescent will call forth the best bravery in Islam.”
“It will be necessary for us Indians Muslims, Christians Jews, Parsis, and all others to whom India is their home-to recognize a common flag to live and to die for.” – Mahatma Gandhi

Indian flag in 1917
Indian flag (1942-1945)
Indian flag (1942-1945)

1947 में आज भारतीय संविधान-सभा ने तिरंगे झंडे को राष्ट्रीय ध्वज के रूप में स्वीकार किया था… तिरंगे को उस समय Dominion of India यानी 15 August 1947 से 26 January 1950 के बीच भारत के ध्वज के रूप में चुना था… भारत के गणतंत्र बनने के बाद भी तिरंगे को ही राष्ट्रीय ध्वज माना गया… हमारे तिरंगे को स्वतंत्रता सेनानी और डिज़ाइनर पिंगली वेंकैया ने डिज़ाइन किया था…

%d bloggers like this: