Events History

18 July : The last plan for India’s Independence

We believe that we know all about partition of India and Pakistan. But, that is not the case. Now, how many of you know about The Indian Independence Act 1947. It was the base and spine of the partition. It is an Act of the Parliament of the United Kingdom that partitioned British India into the two new independent dominions of India and Pakistan. The Act received the royal assent on 18 July 1947, and Pakistan came into being on 14 August and India came into being on 15 August.

Important provisions under this Act
Partition of the British India into two new and fully sovereign dominions-India and Pakistan with effect from 15th August 1947;
Division of the provinces of Bengal & Punjab among the two newly formed countries;
The offices of Governor-General in both the countries would be set up. These Governor-General would be representing the Crown;
The complete legislative authority would be conferred in the hands of the Constituent Assemblies of the two new countries;
The British suzerainty over the princely states would be terminated from August 15, 1947;
Abolishing the use of title “Emperor of India” by the British monarch;
The Act includes the division of the armed forces between the two countries.

1947 में आज The Indian Independence Act 1947 को मंज़ूरी मिली थी । भारत और पाकिस्तान के गठन की नींव कहे जाने वाले ब्रिटिश Parliament द्वारा लाए इस अधिनियम को Royal assent यानी शाही स्वीकृति मिल गई थी… 3rd June Plan या Mountbatten Plan पर आधारित इस Act को भारत की आज़ादी का आखिरी Plan कहा जाता है…

%d bloggers like this: